Even though it has been out in the wild for around a month Google+ is still baffling some people so today I thought I’d take a relevant thread off one of my circles where someone asked: “Can someone clarify this for me, please: if someone adds you to their circles, they can share your stuff with you, right? Can you share yours with them or do you have to add them to your circles first?”
Answers and clarification to date include:
“If you make your post public then it will be seen by them in their stream or in the circle they added you in.”
“For posts to be shared mutually I think they have to be added into each others circles. If they are not on G+ you can still add them into your circle and they will get your posts in their email. I hope I explained it right ”
“Its simple – If someone adds you to their circles, they can see all your updates (marked public*). Its not mandatory for you to add them back to your circles. If you still add them to one of your circles, you can see their updates on your *home page. If you don’t add them to one of your circles, you can still see their updates on the Incoming stream.”
“If you are in their circles, they will see whatever you share, provided you make it public. But let’s say that they don’t have you in their circles, but you have a group call fellow bloggers and want to share something. If you share your post to “fellow bloggers” those who have you in their circles and those who are in your “fellow bloggers” circle will get your share in their stream. Those who have not added you will get your share in “incoming”.”
There you go, sorted!