Sync Wars Hot Up With SugarSync’s Syncing Between Individuals

SugarSync has upped the game in the syncing service wars by incorporating the ability to instantly sync folders and files between individuals. The new multi-user sync capability allows for folders shared among an assigned group to be immediately synced between all parties.

As soon as shared files are updated by a user, each person will find the most up-to-date information on his/her computer. Even better, the storage used in a shared folder counts only towards the folder owner’s SugarSync account, meaning recipients of shared folders can join those folders without using up their own storage limit.

For SugarSync users with existing shared folders, the new multi-user sync is enabled by simply clicking on the button “sync to computer.” Users with multiple computers or devices running SugarSync can select which device they want to sync the shared folder.

A press release from SugarSync points out many other fine-grained controls that add to the flexibility of multi-user syncing, including:

Share any folder – A user can share any folder in their directory structure, such as a folder within “Documents” or “Pictures.” With SugarSync, users have always had the flexibility to backup any folder on their computer; the new folder sharing functionality also allows sharing of any folder on the user’s computer. There’s no need to move your folders into a separate folder to enable syncing and sharing.

Flexible file structure for different sharing groups – A user can maintain his/her file structure with the ability to share folders and sub-folders with different groups of people. For example, a user can share a high level folder with co-workers and a subfolder with an external client.

Password protection – When sharing sensitive or confidential data, passwords can add an extra layer of security.

Cloud-only shared folders – Cloud-only hosting of shared files frees up space on a user’s computer.

“Read-only” permissions – Setting a folder as “read only” is useful when a user wants to share a folder, but doesn’t want the group to be able change the contents of the shared files.

Stored previous versions – SugarSync stores up to five past versions of every file allowing users to revert to a previous version should someone make a mistake or corrupt the file.

SHARETweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestDigg thisShare on RedditShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

Kevin Tea is a journalist and marketing communications professional who has worked for some of the leading blue chip companies in the UK and Europe. In the 1990s he became interested in how emerging Internet-based technologies could change the way that people worked and became an administrator on the Telework Europa Forum on CompuServe. With other colleagues he took part in a four year European Commission sponsored project to look at the way that the Internet could benefit remote communities. His blog is a resource for SMEs who want to use cloud computing and Web 2.0 technologies.